Malpractice Coverage 2018-09-13T13:40:02-05:00

Medical Malpractice Insurance


Malpractice Coverage is important! What is Medical Malpractice?

Statistics show that approximately 195,000 people are killed every year by medical errors in the United States.

Nearly 7 million patient-safety incidents occur yearly among approximately 18.5 million hospitalizations in the Medicare population alone.

Hospital costs associated with such medical errors are estimated at $324 million per year.

There are between 15,000 and 19,000 malpractice suits brought against doctors each year.

Accidents and complications happen, our goal is to ensure that all doctors on Top10MD have current medical malpractice coverage in place.

Medical malpractice is an act or omission by a physician during treatment of a patient that deviates from the accepted standards of care in the medical community and causes injury to a patient. This is a particular subset of tort law. Tort meaning “wrong” is a body of law that creates and provides remedies for civil wrongs that are distinct from contractual duties or criminal wrongs. Falling short of the standard of care is defined as “negligence.”

Medical malpractice insurance is a type of professional liability insurance purchased by doctors and hospitals to cover the cost of being sued for malpractice. Insurance is a promise of reimbursement in the case of a doctor’s negligence or intentionally harmful treatment decisions.

Nearly all states require medical malpractice insurance, Texas being one of them. Under Florida law, doctors are generally required to carry medical malpractice insurance or otherwise demonstrate financial responsibility to cover potential claims for medical malpractice. However, certain part-time physicians who meet state requirements are exempt from the financial responsibility law.

Seven states (Colorado, Connecticut, Kansas, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Rhode Island, and Wisconsin) require physicians to obtain minimum levels of professional liability insurance, ranging from $100,000 to $1 million per occurrence and $300,000 to $3 million in the aggregate per year. Seven states (Indiana, Louisiana, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, Pennsylvania, and Wyoming) require physicians to carry minimum levels of malpractice insurance to qualify for state liability reforms, including caps on damages or patient compensation funds. Despite state rulings many hospitals across the country have minimum levels required for a doctor to obtain staff privileges.

Today, more than ever it’s imperative to check your doctor’s credentials. Top10MD’s independent third-party Credentialist performs this for you- yearly!

Independent Third-Party Credentialing – Performed Annually

Top10MD | Dedicated to Improving ‘The Patient Experience.

Credentials Verified Yearly
Board Certification Verified
State Medical License Current
Malpractice Coverage Current
DEA / DPS Registration
Patient Satisfaction
Experience Matters