Board Certification 2018-09-13T13:44:18-05:00

Board Certification Matters


Are All Doctors Board Certified?  NO……….. Top10MD’s are!

Board Certification is a voluntary process that goes above and beyond medical licensing requirementsit’s a commitment by the doctor to expand their knowledge in a medical specialty. 

In the United States, any person graduating from medical school receives the right to put MD – Medical Doctor, DO – Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine, DDS. – Doctor of Dental Surgery, DMD. – Doctor of Medical Dentistry after their name. This designation does not give doctors the right to practice medicine.

The doctor must then take a state licensing examination to practice medicine. It’s good also to know that each state in the union establishes their criteria for testing and licensing.  All states require doctors to take at least one year of postgraduate training following medical school before sitting for the exam to become licensed to practice medicine in that particular state. This is called a residency, a postgraduate program lasting 3-5 years or longer depending on sub-specialty.

Passing the state licensing exam does not make a doctor “Board Certified,” or indicate how much knowledge, skill or experience a doctor has.  A doctor that states they are “Board Eligible” mean the doctor has completed the residency in a specialty or subspecialty but has not passed the Board Certification test, either because he has not sat for the test or he has yet to pass it. Medical Doctors in the United States volunteer to become Medical Specialty Certified. These doctors have gone the extra mile to receive further education and expertise in a particular specialty and/or subspecialty.

Once a doctor completes a full residency program and takes the board certification test and passes, only then they can state they are “Board Certified” in the specialty or subspecialty of their residency. On another note; a doctor may become “Board Certified” in more than one specialty or subspecialty.

The American Board of Medical Specialties that governs medical specialties since 1933 has a rule that forbids doctors from claiming to be “Board Eligible” for their entire careers.

The American Board of Medical Specialties recognized and approved 24 specialties and over 123 sub-specialties.

Doctors who do a residency in a specific area of medicine become Medical Specialists.
An example is a doctor who completed a residency in Internal Medicine and practices medicine in Internal Medicine is a specialist in Internal Medicine.
A doctor that pursues additional training after becoming a specialist in Internal Medicine such as Cardiology, Internal Medicine would be the doctor’s specialty with a subspecialty in Cardiology.

Residency refers to additional training in a given specialty in a teaching hospital institution. Completing a residency training program takes 2-4 years given the specialty.
Fellowships and other training refer to specialized training and advanced studies and completion of a post-residency subspecialty training program. The term “Fellow” is an honorary title, usually awarded to someone who is already a diplomate.
Becoming “Board Certified” is a voluntarily process. When the doctor successfully passes his boards he becomes “Board Certified.”

Doctors of Chiropractic or DC’s are graduates of fully accredited “first professional degree” programs.

The DC degree is accredited by one of the regional accrediting agencies, such as Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools or National accrediting agencies as the New York State Board of Regents.

The DC degree is listed as a “First Professional Degree” in the same category as the MD – Doctor of Medicine , D.O. – Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine, DPM – Doctor of Podiatric Medicine, OD – Optometry, DDS or DMD – Dentistry degrees such as PT for Physical Therapist which are recognized as subordinate to the “first professional degrees”.

Today, more than ever it’s imperative to check your doctor’s credentials. Top10MD’s independent third-party Credentialist performs this for you- yearly!

Independent Third-Party Credentialing – Performed Annually

Top10MD | Dedicated to Improving ‘The Patient Experience.

Credentials Verified Yearly
Board Certification Verified
State Medical License Current
Malpractice Coverage Current
DEA / DPS Registration
Patient Satisfaction
Experience Matters